Question: What Was The Government Of India In 2004?

Who attacked Indian Parliament in 2001?

The 2001 Indian Parliament attack was a terrorist attack on the Parliament of India in New Delhi, India on 13 December 2001.

The perpetrators belonged to Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) – two Pakistan-raised terrorist organization..

Is Afzal Guru alive?

Deceased (1969–2013)Afzal Guru/Living or Deceased

Who ruled India in 2007?

The Indian National Congress won by a simple majority. A Congress-led coalition government was sworn in on 1 March 2007 with Okram Ibobi Singh as the Chief Minister.

Who is the president of India?

Ram Nath KovindIndia/President

How is Indian prime minister elected?

The Prime Minister is appointed by the President, who also appoints other ministers on the advice of Prime Minister. The Council is collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha.

Who is a CM in India?

Current Indian chief ministersState (past chief ministers)NamePartyMadhya Pradesh (list)Shivraj Singh ChouhanBharatiya Janata PartyMaharashtra (list)Uddhav ThackerayShiv SenaManipur (list)N. Biren SinghBharatiya Janata PartyMeghalaya (list)Conrad SangmaNational People’s Party27 more rows

How many states BJP is ruling?

State Legislative AssembliesS.No.State / Union TerritoryRuling Party / Ruling Alliance27TelanganaTRS28TripuraBJP+IPFT29Uttar PradeshBJP30UttarakhandBJP27 more rows

Who was ruling India in 2004?

On 13 May, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its alliance National Democratic Alliance conceded defeat….2004 Indian general election.LeaderSonia GandhiAtal Bihari VajpayeePartyINCBJPAllianceUPANDALeader since19 March 199816 May 1996Leader’s seatRae BareliLucknow21 more rows

What was the government of India in 2001?

He headed his Third Vajpayee Ministry….Third Vajpayee ministryHead of stateK. R. Narayanan (until 25 July 2002) A. P. J. Abdul Kalam (from 25 July 2002)Head of governmentAtal Bihari VajpayeeDeputy head of governmentL. K. AdvaniMember partyBharatiya Janata Party (NDA)14 more rows

How many pm are there in India?

Since 1947 India has had 14 prime ministers, 15 including Gulzarilal Nanda who twice acted in the role, of which 6 having at least one full term, ruling country for about 60 years.

Who was the prime minister in 1991 in India?

ListNo.NameAssumed office of Prime Minister8Chandra Shekhar10 November 19909P. V. Narasimha Rao21 June 199110Atal Bihari Vajpayee16 May 199611H. D. Deve Gowda1 June 199610 more rows

Who is all prime minister of India?

Narendra ModiSince 2014India/Prime minister

How was first prime minister of India elected?

India’s first prime minister—Jawaharlal Nehru—took oath on 15 August 1947. Nehru went on to serve as prime minister for 17 consecutive years, winning four general elections in the process. His tenure ended in May 1964, on his death.

How many attacks are there in India?

In July 2016, the Government of India released data on a string of terror strikes in India since 2005 that claimed 707 lives and left over 3,200 injured….List.Number19DateDecember 13, 2001Incident & description2001 Indian Parliament attack in New DelhiLocationDelhiPeople killed779 more columns

Who was ruling India in 1999?

On 17 April 1999, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) coalition government led by prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee failed to win a confidence vote in the Lok Sabha (India’s lower house) by a single vote due to the withdrawal of one of the government’s coalition partners – the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam ( …

Who ruled India in 2005?

The First Ministry of Manmohan Singh was the first Union Council of Ministers of India under the Prime Ministership of Dr. Manmohan Singh. It was formed after the 2004 Indian general election held in four phases during 20 April – 10 May 2004, to elect the 14th Lok Sabha, and it functioned from 2004 to May 2009.

Who was the prime minister in 1992 in India?

P. V. Narasimha RaoIn office 31 March 1992 – 18 January 1994Prime MinisterHimselfPreceded byMadhavsinh SolankiSucceeded byDinesh Singh66 more rows

Who is the first lady prime minister of India?

listen); née Nehru; 19 November 1917 – 31 October 1984) was an Indian politician and a central figure of the Indian National Congress. She was the first and, to date, only female Prime Minister of India. Indira Gandhi was the daughter of Jawaharlal Nehru, the first prime minister of India.

Who ruled India in 2003?

A member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Vajpayee was the tenth Prime Minister. He headed the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance in the Indian Parliament, and became the first Prime Minister unaffiliated with the Indian National Congress to complete a full five-year term in office.

Who was in power in 2008 in India?

IncumbentsPostNamePresidentPratibha PatilVice PresidentMohammad Hamid AnsariPrime MinisterINC Dr. Manmohan SinghChief JusticeK. G. Balakrishnan

How many states BJP is ruling 2020?

As of March 2020, 43 BJP leaders have held the position of a chief minister, out of which twelve are incumbent. A chief minister is the head of government of each of the twenty-eight states and three union territories (UTs) (Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir and Puducherry).